North American Approvals

LabTest Certification is an OSHA Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL).

c LC us NRTL transparent

The scope of recognition includes approval of equipment for Hazardous Locations.

Electrical equipment to be installed in Hazardous (Classified) Locations is mandated to comply with the national product safety standards for both general safety (ordinary locations) and hazardous locations.


Products are evaluated to:

  • General product safety standards: for compliance for shock, mechanical, fire and electrical hazards that exist in general use of the product, considering single fault failures.
  • Hazardous Locations Testing and Certification standards: for prevention of gas and dust ignitions.

Regulatory Systems

In Canada, the Canadian Electrical Code (CSA-C22.1) mandates product compliance markings for all hazardous location equipment.

The new CEC, CSA-C22.1 requires Hazardous Location equipment to be marked for “Zones” (new approach), to slowly replace the Classes and Divisions marking schemes (old approach) with the Zone and Method of Protection markings.

In the USA, the National Electrical Code has also started to adopt the Zone and Method of Protection markings , slowly moving away from the old approach of Classes and Divisions.

Classes and Divisions (old approach):   markings indicate to the installer and user for what areas the product was approved for.

Zone and Method or Protection (new approach):   markings identify the specific method of protection the product complies with and the Zone.

Adoption of IEC 60079
Both Canada and the USA are members of the IECEx Scheme and have adopted the IEC 60079 series of standards with the country specific national deviations.

This allows manufactures/applicants to evaluate the products to a single test program, in accordance to the IEC standards with the country specific national deviations.

In Canada the products are evaluated to the CSA standards.

In the USA, products for hazardous locations testing and certification are evaluated to the ISA, UL and/or FM standards.

Standards published by these standards development organizations (SDOs) are adopted from the IEC 60079 series of standards.

Both CSA and UL are  slowly aligning (harmonizing) their standards in aim to help manufactures comply with a single requirement and avoid repeat testing.

Interested in Preliminary Design Review for North American products ?

Ensure that your products meet the minimum safety criteria established in the applicable standards

Check our other services

Testing & Certification

Testing & Certification

Product testing and certification to national and international standards in the areas of Electrical, PPE, Hazardous Locations, EMC, Gas, Plumbing, Marine, Solar, Energy Efficiency, Building Materials, Environmental Testing

Field Evaluations

Field Evaluations

Field Evaluations are onsite product approvals designed for limited quantities or specialized equipment where certification is not the fastest or most cost effective option

Management Systems Services

Management Systems Services

LabTest Certification offers Training, Assessment, and Certification in compliance with ISO 9000 series of standards to help you make your business stand out from the competition!

Training Program

Training Program

Our extensive in-house knowledge and high levels of expertise allow us to provide the support you need to achieve complete confidence in the subject area you are seeking training for. Training available online and in-person.